Superstars of science

Professor Sir John Walker has been named at number three in a new list of 'superstars of science'. The list has been compiled by Australian consultants SEO Pty, who have analysed scientists' public and professional profiles.

John Walker is currently the director of the Medical Research Council's Mitochondrial Biology Unit and is a Fellow in Natural Sciences. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1997 for his work examining the genetic code of mitochondria.

Number one on the list, Ahmed H. Zewail, was formerly a visiting fellow at Sidney Sussex.

This is an archived news story, first posted in 2011.

News item posted Sunday, 3rd May 2015

  • Professor Sir John Walker
  • Professor Sir John Walker